No, WhatsApp will not discontinue your account on May 15, 2021, if you do not accept its new terms of service, for which it must have prompted you a hundred times. But the Facebook-owned app will limit your functionality, not immediately but gradually. It will not let users who do not comply with the new terms of service access their chat lists, the very foundation of a chat app. It will also stop users from accessing audio and video calls over time.
You should keep in mind that once you delete your WhatsApp account permanently, you will not be able to restore a deleted account. WhatsApp in its FAQ notes that it may take 90 days to delete your account fully. During this period of 90 days, you will not be able to access your data. Any personal information shared with other Facebook Companies will also be deleted. Permanently deleting your WhatsApp account will delete your account from WhatsApp, erase your message history, delete you from all WhatsApp groups, delete your Google Drive backup, detach your phone number from your account and delete your phone number from friends’ WhatsApp contact lists.
You should backup your WhatsApp data before you permanently delete the account because once deleted, users cannot access their WhatsApp data. If you want to see how much data WhatsApp collected since the time you joined the app, you can request a data collection info that will give you the required information, and also a link to download all your data. However, the process will take three days from the time you send the request.
— Open WhatsApp and go to Settings
— Go to Account and tap on the Request account info option.
— Tap on the Request button and your request will then be sent to the company.
You can also manually export personal chats including media of select chats by following the given steps:
— Open the chat of the individual whose chat you want to export.
— Tap on the three dots on the right-hand corner.
— Tap on More and select Export chat. You can include files, photos, videos, and other media by tapping on Include media, which will give you the option to export chat to Google Drive, Gmail, or other storage apps.
Here is how you can permanently delete your WhatsApp account:
— Open WhatsApp.
— Tap More options
— Go to Settings > Account > Delete my account.
— You will be required to enter your phone number in the full international format and tap on Delete My Account.
— Select a reason for permanently deleting your account from the dropdown.
— Tap on Delete my account.